atmosphere at home

 
home styling  
busniness styling
interior design
 
interior consulting
 

Biolosophy

Born in 1963 of a Greek father and a Swedish mother, Sophie Yanacopoulos-Gross is a globe-trotting cosmopolitan and linguist, fluent in Portugese, Swedish, Italian, German, English and French.

As an interior designer with a diploma from the Geneva School of Decorative Arts, she learned to practise her craft at Tagliabue, a Genevan institution. After which, she managed the shop Espace Architectural, and then worked with Jean-Pierre Goumaz, an important figure in the Lausanne design world. During these years she gathered experience, confirmed her calling and developed her sure taste and perspicacity which have stood the test of time. She prefers things plain to glitz and dazzle, the natural to the artificial.

When she returned to Geneva in 1995, she married Paul Gross, an English designer working for the furniture firm SCP. Together they pooled their talents and launched the concept store “atmosphere“ and its subsidiary “atmosphere-cuisine“. Both premises, to which they added a design office, offered a selection of home and kitchen furniture and accessories. For ten years, from 1996 to 2005, she was their artistic director, busy on all fronts and sparing no effort to bring the “atmosphere style“ to Calvinist Geneva.

It was then that Sophie felt the need to embark on a new venture. With Paul she worked for five years to complete their new house and showroom, a symbol of their know-how and lifestyle. She says she likes to “create consistency between objects so that everyone can enhance their home and quality of life ecologically, economically, aesthetically or philosophically“.
« atmosphere at home » was born !

home
|
biolosophy
|
goodies
|
press + tv

atmosphere at home

 
home styling  
busniness styling
interior design
 
interior consulting
 

Biolosophie

Née en 1963 d'un père grec et d'une mère suédoise, Sophie Yanacopoulos-Gross est du genre cosmopolite, globe-trotteuse et polyglotte, maniant aussi bien le portugais, le suédois, l'italien, l'allemand, que l'anglais et le français.

Architecte d’intérieur, elle est diplômée de l’Ecole des Arts décoratifs de Genève. Son métier, elle l'a appris chez Tagliabue, institution genevoise. Par la suite, elle tiendra le magasin Espace architectural, avant de faire un détour important par Jean-Pierre Goumaz, référence lausannoise dans le domaine du design. Pendant toutes ces années, elle cumule les expériences, prépare son grand projet, affine un regard et un goût qui ne se sont jamais démentis avec les années. Préférant le bois au bling, le naturel à l'artificiel, le blanc à l'étincelant.

Quand elle revient sur Genève, en 1995, elle se marie avec Paul Gross, un designer anglais passé dans les rangs de la maison d'édition londonienne SCP. Ensemble ils réunissent leurs talents et donnent naissance au concept store "atmosphere" et "atmosphere cuisine". Les 2 espaces proposent une sélection de mobilier et d'accessoires d'habitat et de cuisine, doublés d'un bureau d'étude. Dix années durant, de 1996 à 2005, elle en sera la directrice artistique, multipliant les postes et les tâches, imposant ce "style atmosphere" à la Genève calviniste.

C'est à ce moment qu'elle ressent le besoin de se lancer dans une nouvelle aventure. Avec Paul, elle mettra cinq ans à achever leur maison-showroom, véritable condensé de leur savoir-faire et de leur savoir-vivre. Elle dit qu'elle aime «créer de la cohérence entre les objets, afin que tout un chacun puisse améliorer son cadre et sa qualité de vie, que ce soit en termes écologiques, économiques, esthétiques ou philosophiques».
« atmosphere at home » est née !

home
|
biolosophie
|
goodies
|
presse + tv